Posted on

D.C. by Night

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This photo essay is on touring part of D.C. at night.  I’ve always thought that many of the monuments and parts of the city look even better lit up at night.  The effect the camera also has in night mode also allows the pictures to really stand out.

For my night I started at the Lincoln Memorial, showed in picture 2.  At night time the memorial really stands out as it is all lit up and has a glowing effect.  In the 4th picture I am by the Memorial Bridge which looks incredible lit up at night with the light reflecting off the Potomac river.  In the 5th picture, we have a view of the Georgetown waterfront in the distance.

Moving on I headed towards Capitol Hill.  I took this picture as I was stopped at a red light.  Although it came a little blurry, I thought out of all the pictures I took of Capitol Hill, it looked the best with the road leading up to it.  I then headed towards  the Navy Memorial Archives.  There I took the next 3 pictures shown.  It was a bit touching as red roses were laid out all over the square in observance of the fallen soldiers.

I then proceed back towards the Lincoln Memorial and stopped by the White House to a shot of it at night.  Thanks to the night shot mode on the camera, the picture actually came out pretty well.  The White House was actually not lit up and was surprised the picture came out as clear as it did.  To end the night I took a picture of the Washington Monument as the sun was rising.  The back drop from the sky line made the picture and monument really stand out.

About derekd9

Hello...will update later.

Leave a comment